In Texas, the crime of assault is taken seriously. The offense can be categorized in one of two ways: “simple assault” or “aggravated assault.” A simple assault is when a person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes or threatens to cause bodily injury to someone else. An aggravated assault is when a person causes serious bodily injury to someone else that leads to the loss or impairment of a body part or organ, permanent disfigurement, or death (or a substantial risk of death); or it is when someone uses or displays a deadly weapon during an assault. Simple assault and aggravated assault differ in potential punishments.
In most cases in Texas, simple assault is considered a Class A misdemeanor with the most minimal penalties of any assault cases. However, the classification of the crime and the penalties change if the charges are for aggravated assault. Aggravated assault charges are second-degree felonies at the least, with possible penalties from two to 20 years of prison time and a monetary fine of up to $10,000. If the charge warrants categorization as a first-degree felony, penalties can include a prison sentence of 99 years to life; this is what happens if the assault is committed against a family member or a member of your immediate household, someone with whom you have had a dating/intimate relationship, a civil servant or another public official, or certain others.
Aggravated assault is one of the most serious charges in the state of Texas. If you have been charged with aggravated assault, your best next step is to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense lawyer who knows the Texas statutes and can help you fight those charges. A licensed attorney may be able to establish that the charges exceed any possible crime and may be able to have your charges reduced; he also may be able to have the charges against you dismissed if the evidence in the case demonstrates that your actions were not the cause of any injuries to the other party involved, or if it shows that you were acting in self-defense.
In Texas, the severity of an assault charge and the penalties associated with the crime can vary significantly depending on the situation. If you are convicted of aggravated assault, the consequences can include jail time and fines, and your permanent record will be negatively affected. A skilled criminal defense attorney can be especially important if you are facing charges of aggravated assault and need legal advice and guidance. Contacting a qualified attorney who will fight for your rights is your best course of action if you have been charged with aggravated assault in the Austin, Texas area; he may be able to get your charges reduced or possibly dropped. The skilled legal team at Jarvis, Garcia, & Erskine Law understands Texas statutes and can answer your questions about assault charges you are facing. For a free consultation and more information about the legal services available from the experienced, professional team at Jarvis, Garcia, & Erskine Law, contact them online or call 512-359-3030.